I also play the shell game

Julianne’s comments are “off,” so I will tell you, here, how stimulated I was by her post “Shell Game.”

Julianne writes like an angel, which is my way of saying that her words give wings to thoughts and impressions, and either gladden your heart or challenge your thinking (usually both).

Julianne’s lifelong shell collecting has changed from seeking “perfect specimens” to those that are “broken” (thus able to reveal more of their interior), or studded with barnacles and stones.

Perhaps this shift in my vision is a natural factor of aging. That the reflected wrinkles on the face in the mirror may move me to look for beauty that is beyond the proscribed norm. Or it may be the urge, still strong from childhood, to discover the “what’s inside” of anything. I find mostly though, it’s the craving to experience. Everything.

I am with you, Julianne, in the exploration of EVERYTHING, perfect or imperfect. Imperfection is the route I am drawn to, because it reflects me back to myself and allows me the opportunity, over and over, to accept and forgive my own. The drive towards “perfection” is so futile, and often damaging to those who fool themselves into believing they can achieve it.

Notice that there is perfection in imperfection: right there in the word itself. That is not sleight of mind, in my experience, but a deep truth. Byron Katie would call it “Loving what is.”

Just loving what is.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Artists, Inspiration, Life Strategies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I also play the shell game

  1. Deb Sims says:

    Some wise person whose name has escaped my imperfect aging brain said “We are all perfect in our imperfection.” It would be a pretty boring world if we were all perfect.

  2. Carol Wiebe says:

    Yet we keep chastising ourselves when we don’t do things “well enough.” Calling ourselves names, being disappointed in ourselves, getting discouraged ~ are all “perfectionism” in disguise.

  3. Thank you Carol. I’m finding that the road we walk, especially as artists is never really solitary when we speak from the soul and listen with our hearts. Your “Imperfection is the route I am drawn to, because it reflects me back to myself and allows me the opportunity, over and over, to accept and forgive my own,” are what resonates in my heart when I shut-down the “critical committee” in my brain. “Loving what is.” If ever there was a truth–this is mine.
    p.s. I had no idea what the “comment” tool was before this morning, this old dog can learn new tricks–thanks!!

  4. linda says:

    your blog is like an orange creamsicle=no idea how to spell this-after eating tortilla soup…so refreshing and engaging, makes me want to dance…or paint! blessingsxx

Leave a Reply

