Jane Fonda and I Have a Lot in Common

Yes, I’m with Jane on revelling in the third act of life, although I’m maybe not in quite such good physical shape.

I’ll have to work on that.

Jane had some great lines:

Perhaps the task of the third act is to finish up the task of finishing ourselves.

This was the clincher:

Women start off whole. As girls, we’re fiesty ~ Yeah? Who says!
We have agency. We are the subjects of our own lives.

But very often, many, if not most of us, when we hit puberty, start worrying about fitting in and being popular. We become the subjects and objects of other people’s lives.

But now, in our third acts, it may be possible for us to circle back to where we started and know it for the first time. If we can do that, it will not just be for ourselves. Older women are the largest demographic in the world. If we can go back and redefine ourselves and become whole, this will create a cultural shift in the world. And it will give an example to younger generations so they can re-conceive their own lifespan.

About CarolWiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jane Fonda and I Have a Lot in Common

  1. Gina says:

    How timely that I just listened to Jane Fonda’s talk last night and was equally impressed with what she said and how she said it. I commented to my husband how many of the fibre/clay artists I follow are on their path of discovery, in or close to their third act. (have to include myself in that time frame)

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      And how lucky we are, Gina, to have our art–something so dynamic and satisfying–to channel our energy and attention during the third act.

  2. barb says:

    The staircase as a metaphor, how uplifting! The human spirit that defies entropy and ascends upward even in the face of physical challenges. Age as potential, not pathology.

    Thank you Jane and Carol, for bringing this positive outlook to my consciousness.

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Barb–that REALLY struck me but you pointed it out: age as potential, NOT pathology. Everyone expects to be decrepit, instead of vibrant and joyful. And even if there are physical challenges, spirit can shine through. Thanks Barb! I certainly miss a dose now and then of YOUR presence, but I feel it across the miles!

  3. Jacqueline says:

    Thank you Carol for sharing this uplifting message with us.
    Jane has Ted Turner’s money and just had the most “natural looking” facelift.
    It’s no wonder she’s so high on life.

    • Carol Wiebe says:

      Well, I do not share those two points with Jane, but I am high on life nevertheless. Her message still stands!

  4. I just ran across this video a few days ago, and found it exciting and true. Made me more determined to truly “live” my third act. I particularly like her focus on possibility vs pathology, a discussion that can be helpful in the world of therapy as well. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

