Design Generating Activity

A favorite activity is to grab a magazine or catalogue, and use the products, ads, or anything else inside, to generate designs.

A magazine or catalogue can help generate a stack of great designs.

All you need are a few pads of thin, white paper and a black pen.

I also do this at meetings, doctor offices, or even visits with friends: I start to draw based on what I see around me. It is relaxing, conversation inducing, and keeps your inner artist well fed.

These drawings are then scanned, refined, and added to my binders of designs. I can turn them into such useful things as stamps, design papers for collage, and 3D elements to add to paintings.

About Carol Wiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Art Processes & Techniques, Carol's Art, Carol's Art Processes & Techniques, Drawings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Design Generating Activity

  1. tammy vitale says:

    how do you turn them into stamps? This is a great idea!

    • carolwiebe says:

      Tammy, I just make really simple styrofoam stamps. I’ve had some of them for over 10 years. I love how grungy they get after a while, and if they lose the pattern too much, I can make a new one in a few minutes!

Leave a comment