What will YUDU?

I mentioned having thermofax envy a while back, and quite recently I have been getting comments about the YUDU.

Trans-craft-inental is excited about it.

alegnaavlis mentioned it on a Flickr Gocco discusssion group.

Blue Roof Designs is asking if Yudu is the new Gocco. Elissa R. Campbell has some good questions about the product, (and I love her chopstick journals).

It’s no surprise that Everything Cricut is pushing it.

Glenda (aka The Gadget Queen) filmed a demo of  the machine works at a Craft and Hobby Convention.

Weddingbee wonders if this is the next big thing for making wedding invitations (and other fun products).

Lori Shrout is experimenting with her YUDU.

Isabelle has YouTube Demo 1 and Demo 2, which she filmed while enjoying champagne.

Julie Green thinks they should have named the machine heroin.

Also go to the Yudu site 1 or Yudu site 2,  or Provo craft (who also make the Cricut products, for info, videos, and more.) The ads, quite different than most, are actually thought provoking! My favorites, especiallye Unsilence Yourself and I Am Here.

At Craftervidz, you can see another demo. Just be prepared for the theme song (I shall say no more).

Sarah also features a YUDU video on her site and she is so blown away that she says:

I can’t wait to use this in my classrooms and intend fully on having machines (yeah, you read that correctly. . . multiple machines) available for folks to use to give their own ideas a voice.

Enough already. So, what do you think? What will YUDU? (The name just invites puns of this sort, and who am I to resist?)

I am undecided at present (unless I was given one as a present, which I would certainly be HAPPY to accept). However, I will be keeping my eye on this product and waiting for it to come to Canada. Sometimes, I think manufacturers don’t realize that Canada is in North America.

About Carol Wiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Art Processes & Techniques, Products and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What will YUDU?

  1. Liz says:

    Hi Carol,

    There’s an Etsy forum thread about it here:
    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=6006138&page=1

    and someone from Yudo was in there and said that they were looking into distributors in Canada pretty soon I think. It’s an interesting thread… lots of questions answered about it.

  2. carolwiebe says:

    Liz, I see you as the indisputable Gocco Queen. What is your take on this machine?

  3. erscampbell says:

    Hi Carol,

    Thanks so much for mentioning my blog post! In the past few weeks, I’ve decided that the Yudu is just too big for my small studio. Plus the Gocco seems much more contained as far as use goes. However, if the Yudu Fairy left one on my doorstep, I won’t turn her away.

    :) Elissa

    • carolwiebe says:

      You are so welcome! We artists are on a constant search for the right materials, and experimentation is the name of the game. It’s always good if you can find a reason not to buy the latest thing–it means you can buy more of the usual things! I, too, would welcome the YUDU Fairy, and can be heard hollering outside my front door, “YooHoo! YUDU Fairy.” Let me tell you, this can amount to some VERY dirty looks from passersby.

  4. Lori Shrout says:

    Hi Carol.
    Thanks for mentioning my blog.
    Yes I’ve been experimenting – and I have to say I was really undecided at first. I’ve only burned 2 screens so far (but made more projects) but the 2nd one was SO much more easy than the first. I feel like I’m getting the hang of it and can’t wait to do more. I think I’ve gotten the itch !! My head spins a bit when I think about the possibilities.

    Anyway I’ll be checking back here for sure because I really am excited about the YuDu now.

    ~Lori Shrout
    http://www.lorishrout.typepad.com

  5. Erin Bassett says:

    I’m Yudu-ing too! You can read about my experience on my blog: http://erinbassett.typepad.com/creativite/yudu

    • carolwiebe says:

      Fantastic info, Erin. Thanks! I am just getting ready to go to work, but I will definitely check out your site later today.

  6. Lish Dorset says:

    Hey there! Thanks for the Craftervidz link. And sorry about the theme song. That’s me singing and I’m awful.

  7. carolwiebe says:

    Honey, you just keep singing! You did kinda take me by surprise, but who am I to tell someone to stop singing? It is a tad loud, though (hence, the warning). I suspect there’s probably not much you can do about that. Hey, you put your stuff out there, so you can be proud of yourself. And thanks for being such a good sport about it!

Leave a comment