The Symbolic Language of the Soul

Susan Cornelis, at Susan’s Art and Sketchbook Blog, offers a very inspiring Soul Sketching Demo in her sidebar. I appreciate how she speaks so succinctly about tapping into her imagination,  then demonstrates how she “shows up at her art table” and “watches what happens as images appear on the paper and words come to mind.”

Susan has a deep sense of how important it is to “play” with art:

This art play gives  me immediate access to the symbolic language of the soul.

She has developed a soul honoring ritual, and does not begin until she senses an inner acquiescence:

I take a moment to focus on my breath and the movement of energy in my inner body. When my thoughts have slowed and there is an impulse to begin,  I plunge in.

There is a wonderful rhythm to her ritual: tune inward, slow your thoughts, receive the impulse, plunge in.

Susan has gone beyond art making as “a technical process to achieve a certain affect of beauty or realism that can be admired by others.” Instead:

It has become a vehicle for me to identify suppressed emotions and connect with inner wisdom. Now there is a thrill of showing up to paint with the knowledge that the spirit communicates directly with me using the language of imagery, of colors and forms.

By Susan Cornelis. It is "in process" but so powerful already!

By Susan Cornelis. This piece is "in process" but so powerful already!

Watching her demo will make you eager to see Susan’s artwork. Feast your eyes at her Vision Art Gallery and h20colors. She even does pet portraits! You might be interested in taking one of her workshops.

Whatever route you take to learning more about Susan Cornelis, her art, and her philosophy for creating art, you will be delighted with your discoveries. Susan has a soul stirring approach to art,  and she is keen to pass the torch of her passion to others.

About Carol Wiebe

Art entices, inspires, and delights me. Art is a vehicle for laughter, tears, wonder, enlightenment--taking me on a constant path of discovery. You can't say that about housework (except, perhaps, for the crying part).
This entry was posted in Art Processes & Techniques, Artists, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Symbolic Language of the Soul

  1. tammy vitale says:

    thank you so MUCH for this introduction! I love Susan’s website, video and work and am inspired to go play with my big piece of watercolor paper ($6 less my 50% coupon at Michaels) that didn’t get used at a recent class. First I thought: I’ll cut it into small pieces and then I thought: no! it’s already paid for. I will play with it in its entirety which makes way more sense since everything else I’m doing is getting bigger. Why start small?! =]

  2. tammy vitale says:

    p.s. gave you a shout out for this great post over at my blog today – thanks again!

  3. Susan says:

    I am so honored to see myself quoted in your wonderful blog! I feel like you’ve given me a big piece of myself back. I send these thoughts and pictures out into the blogosphere, and then move on to new ones. And when they come back, especially in such an inspired form as this, it’s like they’re new to me.
    So thank you! and by all means feel free to post any of my images here. You will know how to not only honor them but make their spirit grow.

  4. Hi Carol, I love to see what or who you are recommending next. I love Susan’s blog! Her pet portraits are amazing! Please say hi to Arlee when the two of you meet. Donna

  5. Susie Monday says:

    What a great link. I really enjoyed the post and the reference to Susan’s work and approaches. I posted today about content as a part of one’s personal style and this is certainly a great example.

  6. katie says:

    hi carol,
    i just checked out susan’s site upon your recommendation and love it! a video is worth 10,000 words or more sometimes – i’d like to try one sometime.

  7. carolwiebe says:

    It is very impressive: the content, the flawless delivery, the music. It really makes you want to take a class with her, doesn’t it!

  8. Pingback: A Nimbus Surrounds Susan’s Studio Garden « Silverspring Studio

Leave a comment